1. Release Calendar
  2. Trailers
  3. Reviews
  4. Posters
  5. Bollywood
  6. Hollywood
Box Office
Home News Bollywood Industry Shahrukh Khan And Sonakshi Sinha Honoured At FICCI

Shahrukh Khan And Sonakshi Sinha Honoured At FICCI

By FNN | March 31, 2011, 10:53pm IST
Mumbai, March 25, 2011 - The twelfth edition of the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) recently concluded in style at The Renaissance, Powai with the FICCI Frames Excellence Awards 2011. Wizcraft International Entertainment and FICCI joined hands to create another benchmark by recognising and honouring talent for their contribution in the entertainment industry here tonight. The FICCI FRAMES EXCELLENCE HONOURS celebrated excellence across four major entertainment verticals i.e. music, radio, television and cinema. The three-day extravaganza that was held from 23rd-25th March 2011 brought its curtains down, honouring talent for their extensive contribution in the entertainment industry. The night also saw the FICCI Frames Excellence International Honour awarded to the Australian actor Hugh Jackman, best known as Wolverine in the X-Men series. The actor is famed for his versatile style of acting and his rugged on-screen roles in films such as Kate & Leopold, Van Helsing, The Prestige and Australia. A major highlight of the night was the award that was bestowed upon Indian Cinema’s King Khan himself, Shah Rukh Khan. Honoured with the Best Actor of the year award, the actor was praised for his stupendous performance in the box office sensation, My Name is Khan while Karan Johar took home the Best Director of the Year award for the same film. Aishwariya Rai Bachchan was also honoured with the Decade of Global Achievement honour for her glorious decade in Hindi cinema. For the second time in a row Vidya Balan charmed the audience with her gracious and consistent performance with the off-beat film, Ishqiya taking home the award for Best Actress. A film that has sky rocketed at the box office, breaking all records in monetary collection, Dabangg also scored two awards at FICCI - Best Film of the Year and Best Music of the Year Award. In the Best Debutant Category – Female- Sonakshi Sinha bagged the award for her enthralling performance in Dabangg. Band Baaja Baaraat was another film that made a mark in the box office delivering the Best Debutant award - Male to Ranveer Singh for his noteworthy performance and the Best Director Debut to Maneesh Sharma. Television entertainment saw its share of winners, with General Entertainment Channel, Star Plus coming atop with the Most Successful Television Channel of the Year and Sony TV’s hit reality show, Indian Idol-5 declared the Most Successful Non-Fiction Show of the Year. Sushant Singh Rajput from Pavitra Rishta grabbed the Best Actor of the Year: TV – Male award and the gorgeous, Rashmi Desai of Uttaran took home the Best Actor of the Year: TV-Female. Radio Mirchi was declared the Most Successful Radio Channel of the Year. Speaking on FICCI Frames Excellence Honours, Mr. Yash Chopra, Chairman, FICCI Entertainment Committee, said “The entertainment industry in India is booming along with business excellence and we are happy to recognise such levels of talent in both fields. We take pride in honouring best performers for their contributions in their area of work.” Sabbas Joseph, Director – Wizcraft International Entertainment added, “Having perceived the volume of talent in India, we have taken this opportunity along with FICCI to establish a platform for talent to be honoured. We are pleased to partner with FICCI journeying forward as an essential medium to take these honours to the next level.” Director General – FICCI, Dr. Rajiv Kumar said, “We are greatly enthused by the overwhelming global response and unstinted support and participation of the media and entertainment industry of India to the 12th edition of FICCI Frames. I am confident that with the strong commitment of the industry and the support of the government, the media and entertainment industry will grow from strength to strength and achieve new heights of excellence”. Panasonic and Dewar’s are associate sponsors of the evening. Associate sponsors of FICCI, Dewar’s Blended Scotch Whisky has always associated with media entertainment, as they were the first to use advertising using films. Entertainment night partner for the evening is Moser Baer. FICCI FRAMES EXCELLENCE HONOURS LIST: 1. Best TV Series – Non-Fiction - Indian Idol 5 (Fremantle Media, SET & Wizcraft Television) 2. Best TV Series – Fiction – Pavitra Rishta - Balaji Telefilms 3. Best TV Actor – Male - Sushant Singh Rajput in Pavitra Rishta (Zee TV) 4. Best TV Actor – Female - Rashmi Desai in Uttran (Colors) 5. Best General Entertainment Channel – STAR PLUS 6. Best Radio Channel – Radio Mirchi 7. Best Film – Dabangg 8. Best Director – Karan Johar (My Name is Khan) 9. Best Actor – Shah Rukh Kkhan (My Name is Khan) 10. Best Actress – Vidya Balan (Ishqiya) 11. Best Music – Dabangg 12. Best Debut Actor – Ranveer Singh for Band Baaja Baaraat 13. Best Debut Actress – Sonakshi Sinha for Dabangg 14. Best Debut Director – Maneesh Sharma for Band Baaja Baaraat 15. FICCI Frames Excellence International Honour – Hugh Jackman

Please enter your name & email address!

Kick off your day with Funrahi's . It's the freshest entertainment news, gossip and box-office reports, served hot.

Add your comment. Join the conversation!

The best of Funrahi, delivered

Hollywood News Roll

Bollywood News Roll

Other Links
Advertise Contact Us Partner as a Company Partner as a Content Provider Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Connect with us
Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest
Got a news tip ?
movie press-kit / promo material, corrections or feedback.
Send it to us at: